Skip to content

Secondhand review: Morningstar Farms Grillers

March 26, 2009

grillers2Doing more surfing I found this review of  a product that I have enjoyed in the past — the Morningstar Farms Original Grillers. I’d agree with the assessment here. They are good. I think I may like them a little better than this reviewer. I always felt like even if I had two of them, which is suggested in the review, I wasn’t being a complete pig.

The reviewer mentions that these don’t really taste like a burger, and I think that’s the wrong approach to take. When getting ready to eat a meat substitute I know it’s not going to taste like an exact copy of whatever the product is trying to mimic. You can’t do it. Not with vegetables and soy, anyway.

Morningstar Farms makes several varieties of veggie burgers and other meat substitute products.  It’s my brand of choice when it comes to these kinds of things. I don’t eat many of them, but I have enough experience to know that I don’t like the Boca brand products.

There is a spicy black bean that is really good. And there is a garden burger variety that I like to combine with a cup of egg substitute in the morning. I heat it quickly in the microwave to thaw it then cut it up. Put it in the pan a couple of minutes before the eggs to let it get a bit of a crunch on the outside and to heat all the way through. It’s an excellent way to wake up and the calories are ridiculously low for the amount of food you get.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 26, 2009 6:12 pm

    I’ve never tried the MorningStar ones, but I am a huge fan of GardenBurgers. Made of vegetables, you’d be stupid to assume that they’re going to taste of meat, but they are nonetheless a really delicious and quick meal. And much better for you than beefburgers 😉

Leave a Reply

